See who won Dixie, Gilchrist and Lafayette counties’ 2022 midterm elections


Dixie County Commissioner District 2

Daniel Wood III vs. Jaffry Crawl vs. Keith Tuten

Daniel Wood III won the Dixie County Commissioner District 2 seat with 65% of the votes. The current District 2 commissioner, W.C. Mills, is stepping down.

Daniel Wood III fundraised the most of the three candidates vying for the seat: He garnered more than $7,600 in monetary contributions, according to the Dixie County Supervisor of Elections website.

Keith Tuten, the write-in candidate, put up a fight in fundraising, garnering more than $6,000. His name did not appear on the ballot; supporters had to write his name down to cast a vote for him.

Jaffry Crawl trailed behind the two with $1,500 in monetary contributions. He would have been the first Black county commissioner in Dixie County’s history.

Gilchrist County Commissioner District 4

Tommy Langford vs. Emory James Philman

Collecting 88% of the votes, Tommy Langford will hold the District 4 commissioner seat in Gilchrist County. He will replace Marion Poitevint, who currently holds the office.

Langford served as county commissioner for a decade in the early 2000s and has served as chairman of the Republican Executive Committee of Gilchrist County for 18 years. He raised nearly $10,000 in monetary contributions, according to the Gilchrist County Supervisor of Elections website.

He ran against Emory James Philman, who has lived in Gilchrist County for over 40 years. His name did not appear on the ballot. He served as a county commissioner for four years three decades ago but did not seek re-election for personal reasons. He campaigned on increasing jobs and businesses in the county while still prioritizing agriculture and the “small-town feeling.” He fundraised nearly $6,000.

Lafayette County School Board District 3

Mary Anne Koon McCray vs. Marion McCray

Marion McCray won 56% of the votes for the Lafayette County District 3 seat, overcoming her sister-in-law vying for the same position.

Marion McCray is the incumbent and has held the seat for the past eight years. Previously, she was a teacher’s aide, teacher and principal. She raised $7,200 in monetary contributions throughout her campaign.

Mary Anne McCray was a teacher for 36 years but has since set her sights on her county’s school board. She fell behind in campaign contributions, though, raising only $3,300 — less than half of her opponent.

About Carissa Allen

Carissa is a reporter for WUFT News who can be reached by calling 352-392-6397 or emailing

Check Also

County commissioners approve list of roads for construction

Construction may be coming to a road near you. The Alachua County Commission approved the …