The Florida Senate passed a bill Tuesday that would ban texting while driving if passed by the Florida House of Representatives by May 3. Florida is one of the few states without any texting while driving laws.
In 2011, more than 3,000 people were killed nationwide by accidents involving distracted drivers, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s website devoted to distracted driving. Senate Bill 52 would make texting while driving a secondary traffic offense, meaning a citation for texting could be issued after someone is pulled over for a traffic violation.
“People are very cautious about having to pay tickets and, God forbid, points on your license,” said Anna Klausner, a Gainesville resident. “I think it’s a good idea and I think people will take to it well.”
The bill would ban anyone from typing on a device while operating a moving vehicle. Texting while stopped at a red light would still be considered OK.
If passed by the Florida House, a first offense will be a $30 fine and any additional tickets within five years will be a $60 fine and will take three points off the offender’s driver’s license.
Rachel Jones wrote this story online.