WUFT News reporter Nestor Montoya interviews former Florida Governor and U.S. Senator Bob Graham at the Democratic National Convention in Philadelphia, July 26, 2016. (Aaron Abell/WUFT News)

Get To Know North Central Florida’s Democratic Delegates


The Democratic National Convention kicked off in Philadelphia Monday.

Thousands of delegates from around the country are gathered to choose the party’s candidate for the 2016 presidential election.

Former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, the presumptive Democratic candidate for president, received 141 of Florida’s 214 committed delegates after defeating Sen. Bernie Sanders 64.4 percent to 33.3 percent in the March 15 state primary. The remaining 2.3 percent of Florida primary votes went to former Maryland Gov. Martin O’Malley, who did not receive any delegates.

The Democratic Party’s system differs from that of the Republican Party, which has a winner-take-all system in the state. Donald Trump won the state in March, taking all of Florida’s 99 Republican delegates.

Just as with the Republican convention, the Democratic National Convention used Florida congressional district maps that were deemed unconstitutional in 2014 and were redrawn in 2016.

Here are your North Central Florida DNC delegates:

Congressional District 2 (Clinton)

Winnie “Patricia” Byrd (Bay County)

Byrd is the state committeewoman for the Bay County Democratic Party.

Judy Mount (Jackson County)

Mount, who lives in Jackson County, is the treasurer of the Florida Democratic Party and the chair of her county’s Democratic Executive Committee. She works as a senior administrative assistant in the Florida House Democratic Office.

David “Dave” Jacobsen (Leon County)

Jacobsen is the District 4 representative for the Leon County Democratic Party, whose districts correspond with the Leon County Commission seats. District 4 includes the northeast part of Leon County.

The Tallahassee Democrat profiled the 72-year-old Jacobsen.

Mark Lipton (Bay County)

Lipton is the chair of the Bay County Democrats.

Congressional District 3 (Clinton)

Jeanna Mastrodicasa (Alachua County)


Mastrodicasa is a former Gainesville city commissioner. She works as the associate vice president of the University of Florida’s Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences. Previously, she worked in the UF Honors Program and the UF Division of Student Affairs.

David Arreola (Alachua County)

Arreola was the manager of Adrian Hayes-Santos’ successful Gainesville City Commission District 4 campaign this year.

Congressional District 5 (Clinton)

Evelyn Foxx (Alachua County)

Foxx is the president of the Alachua County branch of the NAACP.

Luella McQueen (Duval County)

Terence “Terry” Fleming (Alachua County)

Fleming is the co-director of the Pride Community Center of North Central Florida.

Reginald “Reggie” McGill (Orange County)

McGill works in the office of Orlando Mayor Buddy Dyer as the director of constituent services.

Congressional District 11 (Clinton)

Mary “Pooh” Baker (Sumter County)

Baker is the chair of the Democratic Party of Sumter County.

Cheryl Olin (Marion County)

Dorrick Nurse (Marion County)

Nurse was a delegate at the 2012 Democratic National Convention.

Congressional District 2 (Sanders)

Tiffany “Nikki” Barnes (Wakulla County)

Barnes is a candidate for District 3 of the Wakulla County Commission.

Daniel “Danny” Pooler (Leon County)

Pooler is a political science student at Florida State University. FSView wrote an article on Pooler.

Congressional District 3 (Sanders)

Allison “Allie” Cohn (Alachua County)

Kent Willis (Alachua County)

Willis is the co-founder of Mostly Epic, LLC, a Gainesville-based app-development company.

Congressional District 5 (Sanders)

Jennifer “Jenn” Powell (Alachua County)

Miguel Valdez (Alachua County)

Congressional District 11 (Sanders)

Rebecca Ryan (Marion County)

Joe Additon (Marion County)

The Ocala Star-Banner profiled Additon and Ryan a few weeks ago.


Check Also

Florida Republican chairman won’t resign over rape allegation, saying he is innocent

FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (AP) — The chair of Florida’s Republican Party says he will not …